BISHOP McGANN~MERCY DIOCESAN HIGH SCHOOL DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAM
PLEASE KEEP FOR FUTURE REFERENCE
Why take Driver’s Ed?
- It will be a valuable experience in becoming a safe and responsible driver.
- Our instructors are trained and certified by NYS.
- Students receive a “Certificate of Completion” (MV-285)
- 10% reduction in auto insurance until the age of 21.
(Please check with you insurance agent as policies vary from company to company.)
- Allows a student to receive their Senior License at age 17 rather than 18.
How long are the classes?
- Fall and spring sessions run for 16 weeks.
- Students meet for 1 and ½ hours of driving and 1 and ½ hours of classroom instruction for a total of 3 hours a week.
- During the summer the classes are condensed to 3hours a day, every day, for a total of 16 days Monday through Friday only.
- Sunday classes are available in the fall and spring only.
Can I go in the same car as a friend?
- We do not guarantee that friends will drive together, but if you wish to car pool to Driver’s Ed, the applications must be turned in together and you must indicate this in writing. If possible, we will try to accommodate you.
Where do I go for the classes?
- All students are dropped off and picked up in the parking lot of Bishop McGann-Mercy High School. Driving School instructors are not permitted to pick up or drop off students at their homes or any other location other than the school.
- Classroom instruction takes place in the Mercy High School building, Room 136.
How do I know what dates classes will be running?
- One week prior to the start of the program, you will receive notification, and a one sheet calendar of driving and classroom instruction dates.
- Please retain this calendar for future reference.
What do I need to bring to class?
- A notebook, pen or pencil and your learner’s permit.
- A borrowed textbook will be provided to you by the classroom instructor.
What about Absences?
- Due to the strict requirements of New York State, any classes that are missed must be made up.
- Make-up classes must be arranged with the instructor. Please do not call the school to make arrangements.
- Students that have missed 2 or more classes will be dropped from the program unless medically excuse with a doctor’s note on the doctor’s official letterhead paper.
- All driver education students are mandated by the laws of New York State to take:
- 24 hours of classroom instruction
- 24 hours of in-car training - which consist of 6 hours of behind the wheel time and 18 hours of observation
- Total time for both = 48 hours.
- If you think there will be a conflict with any school activity, sport or personal unscheduled school vacation, it is recommended that you do not sign up for Driver Ed at this time.
How do I know if a class is cancelled due to inclement weather?
- Please visit our website at www.mcgann-mercy.org or listen to WALK radio or other local stations.
- When McGann-Mercy High School is closed, Driver Education classes will also be cancelled for the day. (Classes canceled due to inclement weather will be made up.)
What happens when I complete the Driver Education Program?
- Upon successful completion of the course each student will receive an “MV-285 Certificate of Completion” based on the following:
- All driving time completed
- All classroom time completed
- All written assignments turned in at the time they are due
- Passing grade on Driver’s Ed Mid-term Exam
- Passing grade on Driver’s Ed Final Exam
- Passing grade on driving
- Driver Education textbook returned
- The MV-285 Certificate of Completion must be picked up at the school and signed for. New York State prohibits us from mailing these certificates.
- MV-285 certificates that are lost by the students will require another original to be given because the DMV does not accept copies. Since we are regulated by New York State, all official forms must to be processed again in order to receive another original certificate. It may take anywhere from 1-6 weeks for another certificate to arrive to us. There will be a $35.00 charge for the replacement of the certificate. PLEASE DO NO MISPLACE YOUR CERTIFICATE.
How do I register for my road test?
- You can schedule your road test online at the DMV website (www.nysdmv.com) or you may call your local DMV office.
What do I need to bring to my road test?
- Students must have an appointment
- Must have their Learner’s permit
- Must take road test in an insured car
- Must have *MV-262 Certificate of 50 Hours of Supervised Driving.
- Must have an original MV-285 Certificate of Completion.
*MV-262 – A parent can fill out this form. It was received at the time you received your permit, or can be downloaded off the DMV website (www.nysdmv.com).
What is a Junior License?
- A Junior License is issued to any student who has passed their road test and is either under age 17 and took a Driver Education course.
- Or Under age 18 and has not taken a Driver Education Course.
- A Junior License allows a student to drive directly to and from work (with a letter from the employer stating the student’s name and work hours); to Driver Education classes and to college; not to high school.
Finally, how do I register for Driver Education at Bishop McGann-Mercy High School?
- Fill out enclosed Registration Form. Students will be registered on a first come, first serve basis according to date of birth.
- Include a legible and clear photo copy of student’s permit or junior license.
- Payment of $550.00. (Non-refundable) must be made out to McGann-Mercy High School. A $30 fee will be added in the event of any returned checks. If there is a problem we will carry your registration over to the next semester. If classes are filled however, your check will be returned to you.
- Send all of the above to:
Ms. Kay Sapio
Driver Education Department
Bishop McGann-Mercy Diocesan High School
1225 Ostrander Ave.
Riverhead, NY 11901